::dumbass.

5 01 2007

So, this morning I was working with a script I wrote yesterday that I was having some problems with.  I decided to troubleshoot it, so I copied it from /bin to my home directory and decided to remove the execute permissions from the copy in /bin rather than removing it entirely.

I would swear that I type: sudo chown -x /bin/sigmaker, sigmaker being the name of the script.

Apparently, I typed something else.

Because immediately after that, I couldn’t execute any commands.

ls? command not found.

cp? command not found.

nada.

command not found.

So, I reinstalled.

And I am once again very happy that /home is it’s own partition.  If you don’t have /home on it’s own partition, I highly recommend it.

Really.

kisses,

jimbo.

Actions

Information

One response

6 10 2007
Rolf

You could have booted your system with the ubuntu cd, mounted your /-partition in a sub-directory and fixed permissions on the /bin files in your /-partition…?

Leave a Reply

